The Hood River Police Department offers a variety of different services including: issuing alarm permits, records/reports, fingerprinting, lost and found, providing a speed monitoring awareness radar trailer, and State of Oregon registered sex offender information.
Municipal Code 8.28.030 requires all alarm users to obtain an Alarm User Permit. This code also spells out additional responsibilities and restrictions applicable to both residential and business alarm users. Applications are available on our website and at the Hood River Police Department located at 207 2nd Street. Applications may be mailed or hand-delivered to the department’s business office. The permit fee is adjusted on a fiscal year basis and is currently $46. Please include it with your application.
All requests must be in writing using our Records Request Form. Processing time is generally within three business days; we will notify you if additional time is needed. Records may contain exempt material and are subject to redaction, per state and federal statutes. Fees must be paid prior to receiving information. Our current rates are as follows:
• Police Reports (20 pgs. or less): $13.00
• Additional fee per page: $0.56
• Photos/Video: $34.00
• Extensive Request: $34.00/hr
In collaboration with social distancing measures issued by Governor Kate Brown, fingerprinting services are temporarily suspended. This decision will be reassessed as circumstances change.
Lost and Found
As part of our services to the community, found items may be dropped off at the police station for safekeeping. To inquire if your lost item has been found, please contact our Community Service Officer, Marty Morgan, at 541-387-2761 during business hours. For after-hours assistance, please call our non-emergency line at 541-386-2121. Found items are kept for a minimum of 90 days.
Speed Monitoring Awareness Radar Trailer (SMART)
Neighborhoods, school zones, construction sites, and dangerous roads can often use assistance in promoting speed limit compliance.
With the help of the local Lions foundation, the Speed Monitoring Awareness Radar Trailer (SMART) is currently available for use. The unit is a portable, self-contained speed display unit that is towed to sites experiencing speed-related problems. A specially designed radar is mounted inside a locked trailer, clocking speeds. Motorists see their speeds displayed on a highly visible LED (light emitting diode) display. The speed limit sign above the display reminds motorists to pay attention and ease up on the gas pedal. For those who refuse to take the hint, warnings and citations can be issued by an officer who may decide to wait up the street for those violators. The SMART trailer is calibrated and certified to provide accurate speeds just like a Police car RADAR.
As speed awareness goes up, motorists slow down, even after the unit is moved to a different location. With fewer speed-related accidents, officer time is freed up, so they may concentrate efforts on more emergent incidents. Plus, citizens feel safer, which is what compliance with the speed limit is all about: safety.
If you are interested in placing this unit in your neighborhood, please contact Officer Sal Rivera by Email or you can call (541) 387-5256 and request the SMART trailer.
State of Oregon Registered Sex Offender Info (SMART)
The Oregon State Police, Sex Offender Registration Unit, tracks registration of persons convicted of sex crimes who reside, work or attend school within the state of Oregon. The Unit provides information to the general public regarding registered sex offenders living in their neighborhoods by name, city, zip code or county. Those registered sex offenders who have been designated Predatory under Oregon Revised Statute 181.585, who present the highest risk of re offending and require the widest range of community notification are listed on the Oregon Predatory Public Website (click HERE).
Oregon law (ORS 181.592) currently allows the Oregon State Police to post only those registered offenders who have been designated Predatory under Oregon law (ORS 181.585). Language in the law states that the Oregon State Police will not use the internet to provide information on the remaining sex offenders registered in the state.
Information on the remaining registered sex offenders in Oregon can be obtained by calling the Sex Offender Registration Unit’s List Line at (503) 378-3725 Ext. 44429. For the US department of Justice registry of sex offenders, see the National Sex Offender Registry.